h1

The Well Trained Mind

July 3, 2011

The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at HomeThe Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home by Susan Wise Bauer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I actually put off reading this book for quite a while. Anyone who homeschools most likely knows that this book comes highly recommended, but I avoided it because of the “classical education” teachings, as I have always considered myself an eclectic homeschooler.
Was I surprised!
I am very happy I read it, I should have read it long ago and would highly recommend it to anyone with serious considerations for homeschooling. Even if the reader has no intentions of utilizing a classical method to homeschooling, the resources throughout and information on the trivium of learning is so incredibly useful.
I am thoroughly amazed at how much I got out of this book! Certainly, I will be re-reading it many times over the next many years, and want to attain a copy of my own eventually. I never considered myself anything resembling a classical method homeschooler, but our homeschooling experience has now been heavily influenced by the education I received by reading this title. I suppose I must have been somewhat confused at what classical education really is. Unbeknownst to me, I already believed in so much of what is classical education and felt that it was missing from institutions across the nation.
This is, most definately, without a doubt, a must read for anyone on this path!

View all my reviews

Leave a comment